Stratégie d’adaptation 11

Évaluer les progrès et continuer de s’adapter

Afin de valider et d’évaluer de façon continue les buts et objectifs préétablis par la municipalité, un examen interne régulier du plan d’adaptation de la municipalité devrait être effectué pour se pencher sur les mesures qui ont été mises en œuvre. En plus de bâtir une capacité d’action collective, l’adaptation aux changements climatiques demande de pouvoir réfléchir, apprendre et corriger le tir en fonction des connaissances et conditions en évolution. C’est ce qu’on appelle la gestion adaptative.

Gestion adaptative

Appearing in Climate Ontario’s Adaptive Management in Climate Change Adaptation, Adaptive Management is a systematic, rigorous approach for deliberately learning from management actions with the intent to improve subsequent management policy or practice.  It promotes flexible decision making that can be adjusted in the face of uncertainty as new outcomes from management actions and other events develop.  In the context of climate change, documentation and monitoring of each step and all outcomes advances the scientific understanding of climate change and informs adjustments in policy or operations as part of an iterative learning process. It is not a ‘trial by error’ process but rather learning while doing.

Institution Établissement
Arrangements Arrangements
Plan Plan
Act Mesure
Monitor Suivi
Evaluat Évaluation
Learn Apprentissage
Adjust Ajustement
Collaboration Collaboration

Suivre l’adaptation de près

En ce qui concerne l’amélioration continue, un plan stratégique devrait déjà être en place pour permettre une amélioration stratégique en fonction des progrès et des connaissances en évolution sur les risques actuels et futurs des changements climatiques et leurs implications pour le contexte changeant de la municipalité. Par ailleurs, il est important de répertorier les ressources et mesures en matière d’adaptation qui émergent à l’échelle locale et mondiale ainsi que les évolutions des politiques et règlements auxquels vous devrez peut-être vous conformer. Afin d’évaluer les progrès et l’efficacité de la planification en matière d’adaptation, il est important d’utiliser les indicateurs de rendement clés qui ont été établis pour évaluer les progrès et cerner les forces et les faiblesses.

Le plan stratégique contient les objectifs à long terme et les stratégies de l’organisation. Il doit adopter un point de vue externe solide, couvrir la plus grande partie de l’organisation et déterminer les principales cibles, mesures et ressources affectées en lien avec la survie, la valeur et la croissance de l’organisation à long terme. Un plan stratégique comprend une série de plans abordant différents aspects des responsabilités de l’organisation, tels qu’un plan de gestion des actifs, qui donne un aperçu de l’état des infrastructures matérielles de la municipalité et dresse un plan pour sa gestion à l’avenir.

Il est important de maintenir un répertoire de sources de données et d’outils d’adaptation pour vérifier les progrès, surtout parce que le suivi de l’adaptation aux changements climatiques n’en est encore qu’à ses débuts et que de nouveaux outils et ressources seront sans doute lancés. Les examens annuels des progrès des initiatives d’adaptation devraient être incorporés aux rapports de fin d’année pour s’assurer que le processus demeure une priorité, la raison étant que l’adaptation aux changements climatiques affecte plusieurs services municipaux simultanément, ce qui nécessite une approche de suivi intégrée et continue.

Évaluer les progrès

Le plan devrait refléter la vision globale et le plan stratégique de la municipalité en matière d’adaptation. Compte tenu de la vaste portée du plan d’adaptation, l’examen se déroule généralement à intervalles de cinq ans.

  • Il est crucial d’avoir une idée générale de ce qui a été réalisé et des obstacles rencontrés et de commencer à cerner les solutions possibles.
  • Le but de cette étape est d’évaluer les progrès vers l’atteinte des buts et objectifs établis par les responsables de l’adaptation en vue de réévaluer les connaissances scientifiques sur lesquelles repose l’évaluation de la vulnérabilité et des risques.
  • Il devrait idéalement résulter de cette étape une révision des connaissances scientifiques, des progrès sur la mise en œuvre, l’efficacité des mesures, la mise à jour du plan d’action et la communication des réussites.

Il est important de garder à l’esprit que le processus de suivi et de révision des progrès de l’adaptation devrait se dérouler de façon continue, à plusieurs niveaux (politique, du personnel, technique et budgétaire) et à l’intention de plusieurs groupes cibles. Par exemple, dans la publication Climate Adaptation Manual for Local Government (en anglais seulement) de l’Australian Centre of Excellence for Local Government, il est précisé que la mesure, le suivi et l’évaluation sont des composantes importantes de n’importe quel plan ou stratégie d’adaptation, car ils permettent d’évaluer leur efficacité et d’alimenter un processus continu de révision et d’amélioration. Il convient de noter que les plans d’adaptation aux changements climatiques devraient être intégrés aux plans de gestion des infrastructures urbaines essentielles et évoluer en fonction de l’évaluation des risques climatiques et des stratégies d’adaptation et des résultats du suivi.

À cette étape, il importe d’évaluer l’efficacité des mesures, surtout si elles sont fondées sur les besoins en évolution de la collectivité. Parmi les questions à poser à ce point :

  • Comment les mesures parviennent-elles à accroître ou maintenir la capacité d’adaptation des différents services de la municipalité?
  • En quoi les conditions de la municipalité ont-elles changé par rapport aux conditions de base?
  • Quel est le degré d’efficacité de l’utilisation des capacités techniques de la municipalité pour évaluer les risques et la vulnérabilité?
  • À quel point les mesures ont-elles contribué à la vision et aux objectifs de la municipalité?
  • Y a-t-il des mécanismes formels en place qui intègrent ou facilitent d’autre manière la planification de l’adaptation aux changements climatiques? Sinon, quels en ont été les obstacles?
  • Dans quelle mesure la sensibilisation aux changements climatiques et les effets prévus de ces derniers sur la municipalité ont-ils augmenté?

Le fait de lier le processus de collecte des données et de suivi à des indicateurs de rendement clés permet de relier les mesures aux effets; cela demande la mise sur pied de processus assurant que les données sont recueillies et analysées selon une méthodologie cohérente et la prise en compte des changements au sein de l’équipe d’adaptation et des autres membres du personnel au cours des années à venir.

Un exemple de grille de suivi stratégique pour le suivi et la documentation des indicateurs de rendement clés est présenté ci-dessous. Cette grille est inspirée de la stratégie 8 du projet Mise en œuvre des PEC de Quest Canada et peut servir à alimenter une base de données pour le suivi des progrès des initiatives d’adaptation.

Grille de suivi stratégique

Indicateur de rendement clé

Source des données

Mesures d’adaptation possibles

Fréquence de la collecte des données

Service ou personne responsable

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

En ce qui concerne les stratégies de résilience, des normes de conception ajustées en fonction des prévisions sur les changements climatiques devraient être établies afin que les infrastructures ayant une longue durée de vie soient prêtes à résister aux contraintes futures. La gestion adaptative passe par la mise en place de stratégies pour répondre aux changements progressifs (p. ex. les changements annuels de température et de précipitation) ainsi qu’aux évènements ayant une faible probabilité, mais de grandes répercussions (p. ex. les crues côtières extrêmes exacerbées par la hausse du niveau de la mer). Ces données devraient être intégrées par le biais de mises à jour annuelles ou semestrielles de l’évaluation des risques et de la vulnérabilité, et par la suite dans la révision du plan d’adaptation lui-même. 

Études de cas

Étude de cas

La stratégie d’adaptation aux crues côtières de la Ville de Surrey

La Ville de Surrey a élaboré la Stratégie d’adaptation aux crues côtières (en anglais seulement) afin d’examiner les répercussions des changements climatiques sur ses côtes et les solutions d’adaptation à long terme qui se présentent à elle. Un aménagement du territoire et un retrait planifié en dehors des zones à haut risque sont envisagés. Cette stratégie aidera les localités côtières à devenir plus résilientes. Sur le plan de l’amélioration continue, la CFAS mobilise la participation des résidents et résidentes, des parties prenantes et de partenaires depuis 2016.

« Pour aider la Ville à gérer les incertitudes inhérentes aux changements climatiques, une approche de gestion adaptative sera utilisée. La gestion adaptative, c’est un processus de mise en œuvre de petits changements de façon progressive et flexible. Cette approche repose sur un suivi régulier et la révision de plans en fonction des connaissances actuelles disponibles plutôt que sur des travaux isolés de grande envergure. La gestion adaptative laisse ouverte la possibilité de revoir plus tard les décisions relatives aux mesures, en même temps que se développent les connaissances sur la nature des risques liés aux changements climatiques. » [trad.]

ADAPTATION STRATEGY 11

Assess progress and continue to adapt

In order to continuously validate and assess the goals and objectives previously set by the municipality, a regular internal review of the municipality’s adaptation plan should be conducted to look at what actions have been implemented. In addition to building the capacity for collective action, climate change adaptation requires the ability to reflect, learn and adjust course in response to developing knowledge and conditions (this is known as “adaptive management”.

Adaptive Management

Appearing in Climate Ontario’s Adaptive Management in Climate Change Adaptation, Adaptive Management is a systematic, rigorous approach for deliberately learning from management actions with the intent to improve subsequent management policy or practice.  It promotes flexible decision making that can be adjusted in the face of uncertainty as new outcomes from management actions and other events develop.  In the context of climate change, documentation and monitoring of each step and all outcomes advances the scientific understanding of climate change and informs adjustments in policy or operations as part of an iterative learning process. It is not a ‘trial by error’ process but rather learning while doing.

Keeping on top of Adaptation

At the continuous improvement level, there should have a strategic plan already set out to strategically improve with continuous development and understanding of current and future climate risks and their implications for the municipality’s evolving context.  Also, building a repository of adaptation resources and responses that are emerging both locally and around the world, and developments in policy and regulation that may be required to comply with are important. In order to assess improvement as well as the effectiveness of the adaptation planning, it is important to utilize the key performance indicators identified to assess the progress and identify areas of strength and weakness.

The strategic plan contains the long-term goals and strategies of the organization. Strategic plans have a strong external focus, cover major portions of the organization, and identify major targets, actions and resource allocations relating to the long-term survival, value and growth of the organization. A strategic plan will include a variety of plans addressing different aspects of the organization’s responsibilities, such as an asset management plan, which provides a snapshot of the state of the municipality’s physical infrastructure and the plan for its future management.

Keeping a repository of data sources and adaptation tools will be important when checking for improvements, especially since climate adaptation monitoring is still in its infancy and new tools and resources are likely to be introduced.  Annual reviews of progress on adaptation initiatives should be incorporated into year-end reports to ensure that the process remains “top-of-mind”, with justification being that climate adaptation affects several municipality departments concurrently, requiring an integrated and continuous monitoring approach.

Assess Progress

The plan should reflect the municipality’s overall adaptation vision and strategic plan. Given the comprehensive nature of adaptation planning, a typical timeframe for this review is every five years.

  • It’s critical to get a baseline idea of what’s been achieved, what barriers were encountered, and begin identifying potential solutions
  • The purpose of this step is to assess progress towards the goals and objectives that were set out by the adaptation practitioners in order to reassess the scientific information upon which vulnerability and risk were evaluated
  • The ideal outputs from this step would be review of scientific information, progress on implementation, effectiveness of actions, updated action plan, and communication of accomplishments

It’s important to keep in mind that the monitoring and reviewing progress on adaptation should be ongoing and happening on multiple levels (political, staff, technical, budgetary), and for multiple audiences.  For example, in the Australian Centre of Excellence for Local Government’s Climate Adaptation Manual for Local Government, it specified that measurement, monitoring and review are important components of any adaptation plan or strategy, as they evaluate effectiveness and inform a process of ongoing review and improvement. It’s important to note that climate change adaptation plans should be incorporated into the management plans of critical city infrastructure, and evolve through time as climate risk assessment, evaluation of adaptation strategies, and monitoring.

At the current level, it’s important to evaluate the effectiveness of actions, especially if based on the evolving needs of the community. Questions to ask during this progress includes:

  • How are the actions increasing or maintaining that adaptive capacity of service areas in the municipality?
  • If reassessing baseline conditions, how have the conditions in the municipality changed?
  • How effectively is the municipality’s technical capacity being used to evaluate risk and vulnerability?
  • How effective have the measures been in achieving the municipality’s vision and goals?
  • Are there any formal mechanisms in place that “mainstream” or otherwise facilitate climate change adaptation planning? If not, what has prevented this from happening?
  • How has awareness about climate change its projected impacts on the municipality increased?

Linking data collection and monitoring back to Key Performance Indicators connects actions to impacts, and will require establishing processes to ensure that data is gathered and analyzed with a consistent methodology, accounting for changes in the adaptation team and other staff over the next several years.

A sample strategy matrix for monitoring and documenting Key Performance Indicators is given below, adapted from Quest Canada’s Getting to Implementation Strategy 8, and can be used to populate databases for tracking progress on adaptation initiatives.

Monitoring Strategy Matrix

Key Performance Indicator

Data Source

Relevant Adaptation Actions

Frequency of Data Collection

Staff Dept./Person Responsible

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In terms of resilient strategies, design standards that are recalibrated depending on the climate change projections should be put in place, so that long-lasting infrastructure will be prepared to withstand future threats. Adaptive management is addressed by means of focusing on strategies for responding to incremental changes (e.g. annual temperature and precipitation changes) as well as low probability, high impact events (e.g. extreme coastal flooding exacerbated by sea level rise).  This data should be incorporated into annual or biannual updates to the risk and vulnerability assessment, and subsequently into updates of the adaptation plan itself. 

Case Studies

Case Study

City of Surrey Coastal Flood Adaptation Strategy

The City of Surrey developed a Coastal Flood Adaptation Strategy (CFAS) to explore the impacts of climate change on Surrey’s coastline and the long-term adaptation options available to the City. Land use and managed retreat from high-risk areas are being considered. The strategy will help coastal communities become more resilient. At the continuous improvement level, the CFAS has been engaging with residents, stakeholders and partners since 2016.

“To assist the City in dealing with climate change uncertainties, an adaptive management approach will be employed. Adaptive management is the process of putting in place small, flexible, incremental changes. This approach is based on regular monitoring and revision of plans using information available at the time, rather than relying on one-off, large-scale treatments. Adaptive management leaves scope for decisions about actions to be reviewed in the future, as improved information becomes available about the nature of climate change risks.”